Larry Fitzgerald and Eli Manning: Co-recipients of NFL’s Man of the Year Award

Arizona Cardinals wide receiver Larry Fitzgerald and New York Giants quarterback Eli Manning are winners of the 2016 Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award. The honor is bestowed annually to a player who player who has had a significant positive impact on his community. The award ceremony took place in Houston during Super Bowl weekend.

During his award acceptance speech, Larry Fitzgerald credited his mother and father as “the ultimate examples of giving back.” He grew up helping others in need, and continues to volunteer extensively. The Larry Fitzgerald First Down Fund promotes reading and technology access for K-12 youth as cornerstones to success in life. The fund, which has made grant awards totaling more than one million dollars, also supports efforts to prevent and cure breast cancer and support breast cancer survivors.

Eli Manning’s partnership with Tackle Kids Cancer demonstrates his commitment to helping sick kids. Further, he and his wife founded the Eli and Abby Manning Children's Clinics and created the Manning Family Fund at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, which is dedicated to helping make a healthier Mississippi. “It’s the right thing to be helping out other people…If you’re going to be a leader on the field, you need to be a leader off the field,” says Manning in the Man of The Year Award film.

Read more about Fitzgerald and Manning, and check out all of the 2016 award nominees...